Skip to content

The Chamber’s Board of Directors has released a slate of nominees for new and returning directors to begin three-year terms in January 2024. The nominees were selected by a Nominating Committee appointed by the Board and discussed at the Board’s September meeting. 

In accordance with Chamber by-laws, the Board appointed a nominating committee to review candidates and make recommendations for a slate. This year’s committee included Board Chair Julie Lerman, Franklin Greenswag Channon & Capilla LLC.:  Directors Marc Cornfield, Shred Spot and Amy Kahhat, First Bank Chicago; and members at-large Frank Karkazis, FGK Services, Inc. and PJ Lewis, North Shore Transit, with Executive Director Kathi Quinn as a non-voting participant. The committee reviewed applications prepared by interested individuals and made recommendations with a focus on the balance of representation on the Board as well as individual qualifications.

“It’s important that the Board reflect the variety and diversity of the Chamber’s membership,” explains Kathi Quinn, Executive Director. “We look for a mix of business sizes, industries, and locations to give the Board access to all perspectives and viewpoints.”

The nominees slated as new Board Directors include:

Jeffrey Lambert, Blue Fusion Partners, Inc.

Dr. Ileo Lott, Oakton College

Michael Fiore, NorthShore University HealthSystem 

Slated to continue on the Board for a second term are:

Lee Brooks, Bell Flavors & Fragrances

Mark DeBartolo, Len Roofing & Remodeling

Amy Kahhat, First Bank Chicago

Two individuals were appointed by Board Chair Julie Lerman to fill two current vacancies on the Board. Todd Wessing, Crowne Plaza Northbrook and William Hunt, HTML Global, will complete the terms of Ousman Conteh, formerly of the Sheraton Northbrook, and Jennifer Spencer, Dairy Queen of Northbrook. Both of those appointments are effective immediately and their terms will end in 2025.

Retiring from the Board after serving two consecutive terms are Jacqueline Hart, Allstate; Julie Lerman, Franklin Greenswag Channon & Capilla LLC; Steven Schmit, Wiss Janney Elstner Associates, Inc.; and Jason Young, Waterway Carwash.

The slate of nominees was published to the general membership in an email from Kathi Quinn on September 18. The bylaws allow alternative nominees to be named by filing a petition signed by five percent of the membership within 10 days of the slate’s publication (in this case, by September 29). If no alternative petitions are submitted, the slate will be officially approved by the Board of Directors at their October 12 meeting.

The staggered nature of Directors’ terms ensures that some seats become open each year. Members are welcome to submit an application for Board consideration at any time; their applications will be kept on file until vacancies become available and will be maintained if the individual is not selected at the first opportunity. Application forms are available on the Chamber website.

“We encourage everyone to explore ways that they can be more involved with the Chamber,” notes Kathi Quinn. “Serving as a Director, an Ambassador, a Committee Member, or an Event Volunteer are all great opportunities to expand your business connections while also strengthening the organization.”